Demonstration of two-stage ranking

A two-stage ranking process happens as follows:

  1. Rank all teams with forfeits included as losses at 0. The ranking of any team that has forfeited at least one game is final.
  2. Remove all games involving teams that have forfeited (and who are already ranked), and rank the remaining teams. Those teams then fill in the available remaining ranking spots.

For example, say we have a round robin of six seeded teams, played in order as given by the pool sheet. In the first game, team 1 does not show up on time and forfeits to team 5. The round goes as follows, with the winning team listed first:

Game 15/1 (F)4/26/3
Game 21/62/54/3
Game 31/32/64/5
Game 41/42/35/6
Game 51/23/56/4

TeamRecord 1Stage 1Record 2Stage 2

The second ranking stage, which removes the disproportionate effect of forfeits, moves Team 5 down two slots from 4th to 6th. In the first stage, a forfeit moved them from one to two wins and put them in position to get ranked above Team 6 via a tiebreaking head-to-head win. With that win thrown out, they are tied in record with Team 3, who beat them.

The "death penalty" approach accomplishes the ordering of the non-forfeiting teams by a more drastic means: the forfeiting team loses all its games, finishing 6th, while each of the other teams moves up a slot.